The rules governing the granting of Residence Permit for Investment (ARI/Golden Visa), in force from 8th ofOctober 2012, enable third country nationals to obtain a temporary residence permit to conduct business activities with a visa waiver to enter national territory.

Portuguese, EU, and EEE nationals are not eligible for the ARI/Golden Visa scheme.

Portugal occupies the western part of the Iberian Peninsula and is slightly smaller than Indiana. The country is crossed by three large rivers that rise in Spain, flow into the Atlantic, and divide the country into three geographic areas. The Minho River, part of the northern boundary, cuts through a mountainous area that extends south to the vicinity of the Douro River.

South of the Douro, the mountains slope to the plains around the Tejo River. The remaining division is the southern one of Alentejo. The Azores stretch over 340 mi (547 km) in the Atlantic and consist of nine islands with a total area of 902 sq mi (2,335 sq km). Madeira, consisting of two inhabited islands, Madeira and Porto Santo, and two groups of uninhabited islands, lie in the Atlantic about 535 mi (861 km)southwest of Lisbon. Portugal is famous for its artistic heritage, sun, beautiful coastline, wine, pastels and football.

Learn more about your options in Portugal.

YOUR COSTS minimum 250,000 USD + application fees
LOCATION 39.3999° N, 8.2245° W
POPULATION approx 10,280,000
TOTAL AREA 92,212 km²

There are 8 different ways to obtain Portuguese residency and citizenship by investment. They vary in complexity and cost and can be anything from a real estate purchase to job creation requirements. For more information on the options for Portugal, download our free guide below.


    How can we help you?

    If you would like to speak to one of our advisers, please get in touch today.